About Us

What is the purpose of the Advisory Committee on Transparency?

The Advisory Committee educates policymakers on transparency-related issues, problems, and solutions and shares ideas with members of the Congressional Transparency Caucus. It hosts events to discuss important and wide-ranging transparency policy issues with experts from a variety of backgrounds and develops educational publications and provides timely information to the public and members of Congress.

The Committee's goals include:

  • Promoting transparency in all institutions of the federal government, including Congress, by making the work of government available to the public on the Internet.
  • Maximizing the openness of government and participation by the people.
  • Preventing and rooting out corruption and the appearance of corruption.
  • Fostering improved oversight of government decisions and actions.
  • Reducing opportunities for and occurrence of waste, fraud and abuse in all branches of the government.
  • Developing standards for openness, transparency, and accountability.
  • Providing a forum where concerns about transparency may be raised.
  • Promoting the education of members of Congress and their staff on transparency-related issues.

Who is involved with the Advisory Committee on Transparency?

The Sunlight Foundation administers and funds the committee. Matt Rumsey serves as its Director. The Advisory Committee on Transparency is composed of 17 organizations and individuals who possess diverse political viewpoints and bring broad-based expertise. They are:

  • Emily Feltren at American Association of Law Libraries
  • Daniel Epstein at Cause of Action
  • Daniel Schuman at Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington
  • Tom Bruce at the Cornell Legal Information Institute
  • Hudson Hollister at the Data Transparency Coalition
  • Ginger McCall at the Electronic Privacy Information Center
  • Shanna Devine at the Government Accountability Project
  • Rob Bluey at the Heritage Foundation
  • Jim Harper at The Cato Institution and WashingtonWatch.com
  • Bert Brandenberg at Justice at Stake
  • Tom Blanton at the National Security Archive
  • Sean Moulton at the Center for Effective Government (formerly OMB Watch)
  • David Moore at the Participatory Politics Foundation
  • Elizabeth Hempowicz at the Project On Government Oversight
  • Sean Vitka at the Sunlight Foundation
  • Matt Rumsey at the Sunlight Foundation
  • Rick Blum at the Sunshine in Government Initiative
  • Darrell West at The Brookings Institution

(Organizations listed for identification purposes)

Who funds the Advisory Committee on Transparency?

The Advisory Committee on Transparency is a project of the Sunlight Foundation and is separate and distinct from the Congressional Transparency Caucus, a Congressional Member Organization. It is a private-sector organization and complies with all House and Senate rules, with funding for for Advisory Committee’s online activities and publications, events, and administration provided by the Sunlight Foundation.

Who should I contact for more information?

For more information about the Advisory Committee, or to sign-up for notification of Committee events, please contact Matt Rumsey at 202-742-1520 or email ACT@sunlightfoundation.com.

Upcoming Events

Subscribe to this RSS feed
Watch previous Advisory Committee events on YouTube.

    No scheduled events.

View all events